May 23, 2014
For Immediate Release
Ann Clarke
Colorado Women of Influence, LLC
2014 Women of Vision Selected
Loveland, Colo., – May 23, 2014
Colorado Women of Influence, LLC, is proud to announced the 2014 Women of Vision.The Women of Vision Award honors Northern Colorado women who have demonstrated visionary approaches in their personal and professional endeavors.Nominees have made a significant contribution to the well-being and empowerment of women and the betterment of their communities through outstanding vision, innovation, leadership, and social Impact.
1. Michelle Boyle, Ft. Collins – Founder & Executive Director of Ram Strength, a nonprofit closely associated with CSU which provides local cancer survivors direct financial assistance for basic needs, scholarship opportunities, programs and services.
2. Megan Chenoweth, Loveland – Young woman whose message to kids is: Not even ONCE. And she’s got the story to prove it.
3. Wendy Cohen, Ft. Collins – Led the passage of Lacy’s Law in honor of her daughter who was murdered by a police impersonator in 2003.
4. Caroline Creager, Berthoud – Entrepreneur (owner of Berthoud Athletic Club), author (Bouncing Back Into Shape After Baby et al), mentor (formal and informal programs for over 20 years) and Doctor of Physical Therapy.
5. Melisa Esposti, Ft. Collins – Tireless volunteer, fund raiser, event organizer and grant writer with many nonprofits including Crossroads Safehouse, Weld Co Food Bank and Zonta.
6. Teresa Funk, Ft. Collins – Author, speaker, teacher who created the Great Book Giveaway, Read A Hero Literacy Program for Boys & Girls Clubs, Do Yu Park School Kit Program and El Centro Triunfo Tutoring Program.
7. Jennifer Gray, Loveland – after the loss of her husband & daughter at the hands of a drunk driver, Jennifer created Inspire, Inc and Dare To Move Project to help others move out of their comfort zones and make new choices.
8. Libby James, Ft. Collins – Elite athlete who at age 77 is still setting records for running. She is also a freelance writer and children’s book author, mentor & coach to female athletes of all ages, and a quiet volunteer in the Ft. Collins community. Member of the Colorado Running Hall of Fame, she is one of the most accomplished distance runners on the planet.
9. Stacy Johnson, Windsor – Advocate for business in NoCo through Colorado Blueprint Plan for Economic Development, Director of Business Retention & Expansion for NCEDC and Director of Econ Dev of the Town of Windsor. Also a community leader and nonprofit champion.
10. Rose Moon, Ft. Collins – Ctified addictions counselor and founder of HalfMoon Arts, a nonprofit dedicated to teaching art to at-risk teens.
11. Kathay Rennels, Ft. Collins – A ranch woman who ended up in the political arena: former county commissioner, advocate for agriculture, key role in development of The Ranch.
12. Maria Secrest, Greeley – Former MP in the military, community leader in Greeley, advocate for Hispanic educational excellence and Veteran’s programs, volunteer for Catholic Charities and liaison between Congressman Cory Gardner & constituents. 

Honorees will receive their award at The Women of Vision Gala, held the evening of Wednesday, July 16th at the Ft. Collins Hilton. The event includes a champagne reception at 5:30pm followed by dinner and the awards ceremony from 6:30 to 8:30pm.

2009 – 2010 Women of Vision:Dr. Temple Grandin, Colorado State University
Denny Moyer, founder of Ensight Skills Center
Pamela Cook, creator of “Cut It Out” domestic violent program
Maury Dobbie, founder Young Women of the West
Lydia Dody, Founder Hope Lives Breast Cancer Foundation
Roxie Ellis, founder of two therapeutic riding clubs (Front Range Exceptional Equestrians and Hearts & Horses), co-founder of Alternatives To Violence
Diana French, inventor, Founder of Brand Spanking New
Grace Hanley, Whole Foods coordinator of Whole Planet Foundation
Kristi Helzer, non-profit champion of Greeley
Jeri Howe, founder The Matthews House
Dr. Joan King, speaker, author, coach
Heather Janssen, founder Get Born Magazine
Gailmarie Kimmel, founder BE Local No Co
Carmeen Klausner, founder Pathways To Spirits
Dr. Lori Kogan, founder Pets Forever, and the Crosstrails Program at Crossroads Safehouse
Dorsi Smith, Shannon Lopez and Amy Snider, founders of sports programs for girls & women
Dr. Barbara Wallner, Poudre School District
Elise Walsh, retired teacher
Lu Anne Aulepp, Pioneer of The Women’s Movement
Linda Wheeler Holloway, former FC Police Detective2011 Women of Vision:Floss Blackburn, founder of Denkai Animal Sanctuary
Lori Hentzenroeder, North Beach Dental
Sherri Frye, University of Northern Colorado
Betsey Hale, City of Loveland
Betty Aragon-Mitotes, founder of Museo de Las Tres Colonias
Jenny Langness, Alpha Center
Wendy Ishii, founder of Bas Bleu Theatre Company
LeAnn Thieman, nurse, speaker & author
Kerrie Flanagan, founder ofNorthern Colorado Writers
Leslie Young, Loveland Police Dept., founder of  Journey Conference for Young Women and Loveland’s Restorative Justice Program
Donna Visocky, Founder of BellaSpark Productions,
Marilyn Shock, CEO of Banner Health
Special Posthumous Award:  Ann Azari, former Mayor of Ft. Collins2012 Women of VisionHon. Mary Jo Berenato, Magistrate 8th Judicial Dist
Dr. Deborah Crawford, Forensic Pediatrician
Lindsey H. Deringer, 17 year old student, creator of “Hunger 5K Run”
Denise Burson Freestone, Open Stage Theatre
Dr. Diana Hall, Colorado State University
Elizabeth Lamb Kearney, Wildfire Community Arts Center
Candace Mayo, Habitat For Humanity
Teresa Mueller, CPA
Kelly Peters, Northern Co Economic Development Corp
Carol Rehme,  Silver Linings Program for seniors
Guadalupe Salazar, El Centro
Cheryl Miller Thurston, Moonlighting Teachers2013 Women of Vision:Jackie Bebo,  founder of Adoption for All Children
Sandi Brown, founder of Tutor Doctor Front Range
Dr. Ada Chen, founder of Soaring Hope Inc.
Dr. Kathleen Cooney, founder of Home to Heaven
Dr. Leslie Cunningham-Sabo, life-long dedication to the issues of childhood obesity
Linda Hughey. co-founder of No Colo Nonprofit Resource Center
Brooke Hupp. founder of Team STABOS (Save Them All Big or Small)
Sister Mary Alice Murphy, The Mission CARE Housing, the Sister Mary Alice Murphy Center for Hope in Ft. Collins  and the Guadalupe Center in Greeley.
Tara Pogoda, founder of Fifth Element Ranch
Dr. Amy Prieto, founder of Prieto Battery Inc.
Irene Castillo Romsa,  founder of “Rincon de Cuentos” Spanish literacy program and “Imaginates” youth program in Colorado and of “Casa de Vida” a shelter for survivors of domestic violence in Guatemala.
Cindy Sarai, founder of the Dream Guild and the Dream Room


Colorado Women of Influence, LLC, is a master-mind organization whose members are at a very high level in their careers. With a current membership of 171, COWOI seeks to be the gathering place for a eclectic group of accomplished women: Entrepreneurs, Owners, Executive Directors, Presidents and CEOs from the business world, as well as leaders of academia, government, the arts, athletics and community organizations. For information on Colorado Women of Influence, go to the website at or contact Ann Clarke at 970-817-5315.


The Gala, sponsored by Colorado Women of Influence, LLC, is an evening honoring 12 Northern Colorado women who have been singled out as having made a significant contribution to the well-being and empowerment of women and the betterment of their communities through outstanding vision, innovation, leadership, and social Impact.

Colorado Women of Influence Founder & CEO Ann Clarke said, “COWOI felt there was a need for an evening of glitz and glamor to honor the women of our community who are truly Women of Vision. They have enriched the lives of others with intelligence, talent and – of course – vision. They deserve to be in the spotlight and hear our applause!”

Read about past honorees at this link.